31 Days of Halloween! #26. Fright Night

I’m counting down my favorite 31 Horror Movies of all time. Every day this month I’ll feature one movie from my list – starting on Oct 1st with #31 and ending  on the Oct 31st, Halloween, with my #1 favorite scary movie.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

THE TOP 31 HORROR MOVIES OF ALL TIME

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

#26. Fright Night (1985)

Directed by: Tom Holland

Starring: Chris Sarandon, William Ragsdale, Amanda Bearse, Stephen Geoffreys, Roddy McDowall

Plot: Charlie Brewster (William Ragsdale) believes that his next door neighbor Jerry Dandridge (Chris Sarandon) is a vampire. His belief is strengthened when mysterious deaths of girls are reported. When Dandridge confronts Charlie in his own bedroom one night and tries to kill him, Charlie concludes that the monster must be destroyed. But since nobody believes his story he enlists the help of Peter Vincent, the vampire killer from his favorite horror TV show, who is in fact skeptical about vampires existing for real.

My Thoughts

The 1980’s were filled with horror movies thanks to Friday the 13th’s and Halloween’s doing so well at the box office. Unfortunately 97% of those horror movies sucked major ass. But one movie that slipped through the ass crack of suckiness was Fright Night. This movie is a complete blast one of my favorite vampire films ever. It also helps that the character of Charlie Brewster reminds me of me back in 1985 – a total nerd that wished his next door neighbor was a vampire. To be honest I was more of a combination of Charlie and Evil Ed (I wasn’t even close to having a girlfriend in 1985, let alone one that came over and hung out in my bedroom while I watched horror films). But enough about me, Fright Night has some awesome scenes, my fave being the end inside Jerry Dandridge’s creepy house. This scene was like watching an old school Christopher Lee movie – good stuff. Check it out again. ( just make sure you get the 1985 version and not the one with Collin Farrell, although not a bad movie, it still is nowhere near as cool as the original.)

One response to “31 Days of Halloween! #26. Fright Night

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Halloween! Recap | the mandelbrot set

Leave a Reply

