31 Days of Halloween! #19. The Descent

I’m counting down my favorite 31 Horror Movies of all time. Every day this month I’ll feature one movie from my list – starting on Oct 1st with #31 and ending  on the Oct 31st, Halloween, with my #1 favorite scary movie.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

THE TOP 31 HORROR MOVIES OF ALL TIME

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

#19. The Descent (2005)

Directed by: Neil Marshall

Starring: Shauna Macdonald, Natalie Mendoza, Alex Reid

Plot: After a tragic accident, six friends reunite for a caving expedition. Their adventure soon goes horribly wrong when a collapse traps them deep underground and they find themselves pursued by bloodthirsty creatures. As their friendships deteriorate, they find themselves in a desperate struggle to survive the creatures and each other

My Thoughts

Around 10 or 11 years old I found out I was claustrophobic. I was in the backyard playing with some cardboard boxes, making forts and space ships out of them – you know, shit 10 and 11 year old’s do with cardboard boxes. I had gotten inside of the boxes and for some reason decided to grab another box and pull it over the top of the box I was in, sealing up the top. I was now inclosed. I sat there for a moment and then went to push the top box off and get out, but it was stuck in this small space with no light and pretty sure that my air supply was about to run out. I WAS STUCK! Then a panic I never experienced before came over me and I freaked the fuck out and came crashing out of the boxes like The Hulk. I was free and I never put myself into small spaces ever again. Watching The Descent brought that all that back.

3 responses to “31 Days of Halloween! #19. The Descent

  1. My all time jumpiest film ever; the art with the nightview lense made me jump so much I knocked my glasses off and fell off the sofa!
    Awesome film, going to be watching it tomorrow, thanks for the reminder!

  2. Pingback: 31 Days of Halloween! Recap | the mandelbrot set

Leave a Reply

