31 Days of Halloween! #17. Dawn of the Dead

I’m counting down my favorite 31 Horror Movies of all time. Every day this month I’ll feature one movie from my list – starting on Oct 1st with #31 and ending  on the Oct 31st, Halloween, with my #1 favorite scary movie.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

THE TOP 31 HORROR MOVIES OF ALL TIME

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

#17. Dawn of the Dead (1978)

Directed by: George A. Romero

Starring: David Emge, Ken Foree, Scott Reiniger, Gaylen Ross

Plot: Following the events of Night of the Living Dead (1968), we follow the exploits of four survivors of the expanding zombie apocalypse as they take refuge in an abandoned shopping mall following a horrific SWAT evacuation of an apartment complex. Taking stock of their surroundings, they arm themselves, lock down the mall, and destroy the zombies inside so they can eke out a living–at least for a while. Tensions begin to build as months go on, and they come to realize that they’ve fallen prey to consumerism. Soon afterward, they have even heavier problems to worry about, as a large gang of bikers discovers the mall and invades it, ruining the survivors’ best-laid plans and forcing them to fight off both lethal bandits and flesh-eating zombies

My Thoughts

I watched Dawn of the Dead for the first time with my toy pistol by my side – you know,  just in case I needed to take out a few zombies. The movie left a lasting impression on me and got me interested in how they did the effects I’d just seen. I started reading Fangoria to find out how they ripped that dudes head off with the helicopter blades. I researched the best recipe for fake blood. Halloween night at my house was never the same since.

One response to “31 Days of Halloween! #17. Dawn of the Dead

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Halloween! Recap | the mandelbrot set

Leave a Reply

