31 Days of Halloween! #8. The Sixth Sense

I’m counting down my favorite 31 Horror Movies of all time. Every day this month I’ll feature one movie from my list – starting on Oct 1st with #31 and ending  on the Oct 31st, Halloween, with my #1 favorite scary movie.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

THE TOP 31 HORROR MOVIES OF ALL TIME

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

#8. The Sixth Sense (1999)

Directed by: M. Night Shyamalan

Starring: Bruce Willis, Haley Joel Osment, Toni Collette

Plot: Malcom Crowe is a child psychologist who receives an award on the same night that he is visited by a very unhappy ex-patient. After this encounter, Crowe takes on the task of curing a young boy with the same ills as the ex-patient. This boy “sees dead people”. Crowe spends a lot of time with the boy (Cole) much to the dismay of his wife. Cole’s mom is at her wit’s end with what to do about her son’s increasing problems. Crowe is the boy’s only hope.

My Thoughts

Most of “My Thoughts” have to do with the first time I saw the film I’m talking about. Remembering that thrill and excitement of the experience is half the fun of doing these posts – so, I’ll make no exception here with The Sixth Sense and recall my first viewing way back in the days of 1999. I first saw the trailer for The Sixth Sense during some summer blockbuster. I remember not being terribly impressed with it and said to whoever I was with, “That looks sorta lame.” And soon after all but forgot about it. Then the month of August rolls around and I had pretty much seen everything there was to see at the movies so when The Sixth Sense opened I decided I would waste 10 bucks to go check it out. My expectations were low – there had not been a great scary movie is such a long time and I was sure this one would join the long list of failures. Then the movie started. And from the opening shot of that basement lightblub slowly turning on and the woman standing there, off to the far left of the screen, staring at something “not there” in the right side of the screen I knew something special was about to happen. I felt goosebumps. And the movie just got better from there. This was a freakin’ scary ghost story and I gave myself over completely to M. Night’s masterpiece. I left the theater seats and was there with the Malcom and Cole and the dead people that made the hair stand up on your neck. This was brilliant film making and  I was  enthralled and invested  so much that when the “twist” happened I couldn’t breath. I was dumbfounded and ecstatic that a movie had just taken me on such a ride. This was epic. This was powerful. This was moving. This was horror at its most delicate. Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

