31 Days of Halloween! #7. The Ring

I’m counting down my favorite 31 Horror Movies of all time. Every day this month I’ll feature one movie from my list – starting on Oct 1st with #31 and ending  on the Oct 31st, Halloween, with my #1 favorite scary movie.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

THE TOP 31 HORROR MOVIES OF ALL TIME

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

#7. The Ring (2002)

Directed by: Gore Verbinski

Starring: Naomi Watts, Martin Henderson, David Dorfman

Plot: A mysterious video tape is killing off anyone who watches it. Whenever the victim watches it, the phone rings, telling them they have only one week to live. A young reporter named Rachel is investigating these events, but after she and her small son watch the tape, it becomes a race against time to find out why the tape is killing everyone and how it could be stopped

My Thoughts

This remake of the Japanese film Ringu is a total downer – but in a good way. The whole movie has this grey/blue tone to it that just makes you feel depressed the moment the movie starts. Nothing in this film is happy. Nothing makes you smile. This is all out fucking bleakness at it finest – and I love it! The Ring makes you want to run out and spend a week at a sunny beach afterwards, just to wash off all the creepiness. And this movie IS creepy. Great performances and directing help bring The Ring above all the rest of the “Scary Kids” Horror Sub-Genre. This one is the best and most worth your time.

quick side note: I had bought this movie when it first came out on DVD back in the days and after watching the film I went to check out the special features. The DVD had the “video” that they watch in the movie where after you watch it the phone rings and someone on the other end tells you you are going to die in 7 days. Well, I watched the video. Pretty weird shit man and I have to say, there was a little apprehension right before I hit play. I mean, what if this video really is cursed? Naaa. So I watched it. After it was over the DVD went back to the main menu. I had gotten up to go to the kitchen or something when all of the sudden THE PHONE RANG! But it didn’t come from my home phone, it came from the DVD. Sneaky fuckers scared the shit out of me.

Watch the Cursed Video here for yourself – if you dare!

Leave a Reply

